Monday, 11 April 2011

Final Exit



Well as some of you may have noticed I have not been that active with online AR in recent times, this is mainly because I am trying to do more real world activities over online stuff. Along with this evolution of action for myself I have decided to finally hang up the ARB & Dev Ious Boots.

I will be adding some of those activists I know and respect on my own personal FB.

Cheers to all those who have supported ARB over the years it has been a blast at times :)

Anyone wishing to use the Animal Rights Book (ARB) name for animal rights is free to do so, they can also use the ARB graphics if they want on the condition that it is always connected to the animal rights movement!

I am currently considering blogs, websites or other online work but this will be under my own name and not that of ARB or Dev Ious

ARB over and out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Monday, 21 February 2011

Family Values....



Last night I had another one of those fucked up Q&A sessions with my meat eating sister and her other half which resulted in me leaving scratching my head once again wondering how on earth I am related to these people. From conversations with other AR activists and vegans/vegetarians I know I am not the only one that is thinking of getting onto one of those madcap chat shows and demanding a DNA test.

The conversation started quite innocently with an aunts concern for her niece, she asked me how my daughters job hunting was coming along. My daughter is at college and is looking for some evening or weekend work for extra income but due to the economic situation in the UK hasn't had much luck so far. I explain she is struggling to get any work but is trying her best, this is when the by now boring attack on the AR lifestyle and vegan diet is slipped in. Through conversations with me and my daughter she has learned that my daughter who is an AR activist and vegan would never work for certain companies or industries such as Mcdonalds, KFC, Burger King ect...... because this would go against her moral beliefs.
So now my sis says if my daughter wasnt so stubborn she could get a job at McDonalds who are always looking to employ young students, STUBBORN?????
I bite my tongue and once again try to explain (all the time knowing I will never again get this wasted 5 minutes of my life back) why it is so morally wrong for my daughter to work in such a place blah blah fucking blah........

I can see from the way I am talking to the back of her head and she is concentrating more on facebook farmville than what I am saying that its not really getting through. "Would she work in a supermarket"? she asked, I explained of course she would as long as it wasnt the meat or fish department. "they sell meat in supermarkets" was her reply! By now my head is starting to hurt a little and my eyes are meeting in the middle, keep in mind I have been through about 100 similar conversations with my sis and all end in the same way, she doesnt get it! I then try to explain the facts about McDonalds having horrendous animal welfare ethics (in the sense they actually have none) and as a business they contribute massively to the meat industry therefore are considered an enemy in the eyes of any true animal rights activist.

I then get the lecture from both my sis and her other half about doing anything to keep a roof over our heads and paying the bills with the comment "even cavemen had to find a cave and supply food", they insisted morals should not come into the equation. I sighed and asked them if they were starving or homeless would they sell a 6 year old child into slavery so they can eat or pay the rent? Of course the answer was no and tensions were raised, they then proceeded to tell me that was not the point while I tried to point out the reason they wouldnt sell the child into slavery to fund their own financial comfort is because it would be morally wrong!

Thinking I had made a good point and slightly hoping I got through a little (forgetting my past failures for a second) I cross my fingers. Nope, instead I got a strong defensive wall and them trying to make me realise I hadnt understood the conversation and there was no point in having this conversation if I wasnt going to listen to them.

So there it was, a pointless waste of energy and time yet again. Why do I keep wasting my time trying to explain the rights and wrongs of mankind to people who just cannot or will not understand it? I suppose its a little obsession about my love for the animals and the AR movement as well as a huge chunk of hope that one day I may actually break through that hard shell of ignorance and plant a seed in the soft centre of their heart. At the end of the day what is the point of the animal rights movement if we dont have hope, a lot of what we wish for cannot be achieved without hope!

Saturday, 19 February 2011

Roll Up, Roll Up, The Circus Is In Town.....



I noticed today that a certain so called Animal Rights Social Network is holding yet another one of those never ending guest chats all in the name of desperation, desperate to feel important. Ok I know I cant really talk since the AR guest chat sort of originated on ARB and was sort of my idea but now others have taken that idea and are ass raping it backwards in order to gain a couple more members, its all a little embarrassing now. I am starting to feel like the guy who invented the atomic bomb only to wake up and realise it was actually a bad idea only on a much smaller scale :) I should have listened to Steve Best when he gave me his opinion on these guest chats a while ago.

To be honest I dont think the guest chat feature for an AR website is a totally bad idea and they can have their uses, especially by getting activists from all corners of the globe to socialise. The biggest problem I have with these guest chats now is that a certain AR network is using them merely as a cheap method of boosting membership numbers and site activity which should never be the point of an AR site. Yes there is little point in having a website if no one visits that site but publicity should never be an AR websites core objective in my opinion. The main goal of any AR website I have been involved with is to operate for the good of the animals and the movement not for the good of the site itself, when you become obsessed about the popularity of your site I don't think you can consider the site a true AR site. It becomes more about you than animal rights and a total waste of energy not only for you but also for your site users/visitors.

Anyway onto what really brought me to post about this subject. A certain network has made a shameful decision to host a guest chat with none other than a real live vivisector, no this isnt someone who has realised their torture of animals in the name of bullshit science is wrong and is now a vegan activist. This "guest" is still very active and supportive of the animal testing industry. The network and the guest shall remain nameless here as I do not want to publicise this disgusting waste of time all in the name of popularity. Dont be fooled by this so called AR website, they are not hosting this event for the good of the animals or the movement. They may claim the event is for the benefit of education or debate but the real reasons for this event are obvious to me. The dance with the devil is being arranged purely for the reason of boosting membership numbers and activity on an ego lifting rocket to hell. What other possible reason could they have for hosting such an event as this? Do they think the AR community would benefit from anything this scum has to say or do they feel they and their members can convert this "guest"? If they feel either of these are possible then they are badly mistaken and should not have the capability of hosting a member based website such as this. As AR webmasters we have a duty to use that ability and opportunity to benefit the animals, movement and community in a purely unselfish direction.

Will I be attending this sad excuse for entertainment? In the time it has taken me to write this blog I have thought of 1000 different activities I could be doing at the time of this "guest" chat which could better benefit the AR movement or the animals which so desperately need our attention. Whether you give your attention to the enemy and the fame hungry network admins during this ridiculous circus event or actually concentrate on the important stuff is entirely up to you.

Its easy really, just ask yourselves "what would the animals want"?



Vegan Tribes Coming Soon............................




Vegan Tribes


To win the war we must first unite the army.....

Vegan Tribes, coming soon........

Sunday, 31 October 2010

Peter Young guest chat on The AR Hub video Transcript



This is the video transcript for the guest chat which took place on The AR Hub on the 30th October 2010

The video comes in 5 parts

Part one

video

Part Two
video

Part Three

video

Part Four

video

Part Five

Saturday, 30 October 2010

Peter Young Guest Chat on The AR Hub


video

The Animal Rights activist and popular speaker for direct action, Peter Young, will be the guest for this weeks guest chat on The AR HUB.


You can find out more about Peter on his wikipedia entry
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Daniel_Young

...Or the Voice Of The Voiceless website
http://www.voiceofthevoiceless.org/

The main 11pm time displayed is UK time, for a more local time either see the list of times below or check the World Clock
http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html

Just enter the date in the converter as 30th October 2010 and the time as 23/11 pm. choose "UK/London" as the from time and then choose your local area as the To Time Zone. Hit convert and you will have your local time for the guest chat :)

Brief List of Global Guest Chat Times

Australia (Sydney): 9am 31st October
Australia (Perth): 6am 31st October
Australia (Darwin): 7:30am 31st October
Canada (Halifax): 7pm 30th October
Canada (Toronto): 6pm 30th October
Canada (Winnipeg): 5pm 30th October
China (Beijing): 6am 31st October
Denmark (Copenhagen): 12am 31st October
France (Paris): 12am 31st October
Germany (Berlin): 12am 31st October
Ireland (Dublin): 11pm 30th October
Italy (Rome): 12am 31st October
Japan (Tokyo): 7am 31st October
New Zealand (Wellington): 11am 31st October
Russia (Moscow): 2am 31st October
Spain (Madrid): 12am 31st October
USA (Boston): 6pm 30th October
USA (Washington DC): 6pm 30th October
USA (Chicago): 5pm 30th October
USA (Denver): 4pm 30th October
USA (Los Angeles): 3pm 30th October
UK (London): 11pm 30th October

We fully expect an interesting and intriguing guest chat with Peter and hope you can all make it :)

www.arhub.net

Wednesday, 27 October 2010

Vegans against PETA



I just seen this logo plastered all over facebook by the twilight zone admin Carolyn Bailey linked to a blog post from the Gary Francione wannabe Dan Cudahy. If it wasnt so serious and sad this would be absolutely hilarious, another of the online hermits attempts to divide and conquer! I'm no psychic but I could easily predict this group of self obsessed idiots will soon be starting a new campaign called "Vegans against Vegans" but then again arent they already active in this? We all know they spend their time speaking out against every action by activists that they deem inappropriate under the false pretence its bad for the movement! They claim ownership of an animal rights movement which in many ways clashes with their so called belief system.

Yes these people are a small minority of invaders to the REAL movement and in reality we shouldnt worry about which part of AR they are campaigning against now but at the same time I have always said there are potentially excellent activists out there being fed this bullshit and buying into it. PETA isnt perfect and a long shot short of being the organisation we would all like to see them be but isnt there much more important targets to be concentrating our energy on?

Soon we will see the twilight zone and its insane admins joining forces with the People Eat Tasty Animals idiots in their unbalanced attempts to bring down or discredit PETA

There are enough anti PETA groups out there without the vegans who hate vegans getting in on the act. I say these people are a disgrace not only to the movement they claim to be a part of but the animals they claim to be here for, can they really get any lower?

Thankfully the real AR movement continues great work while these fools play with their distractions on the sidelines and the majority of AR activists are dedicated to the animals. My advice to anyone new to the movement is to avoid these people like the plague and stay focused on what's important. The animals need us more than ever and bashing other orgs or groups who are primarily on the same side is as much use top the animals as vivisection is to human health!